Utah Championship Finishes Atop Leaderboard for Best Social Media Engagement on Web.com Tour.

The PGA TOUR held their end of year meetings in Palm Springs, CA last week, where the Utah Championship was awarded, “Best Social Media Engagement” on the Web.com Tour for 2018.

The award is given out each year to the tournament who has the strongest consistent year-round engagement on all social media channels, unique approach for fan engagement, coordination with TOUR staff about opportunities, dedicated social media efforts during tournament, and extending social media into the tournament presentation.

“Social media has become a vital component to the success of the PGA TOUR and Web.com Tour business, and we rely heavily on the efforts of our partners and tournaments to carry the messaging across a number of platforms,” said Dan Glod, President of the Web.com Tour. “The Utah Championship presented by Zions Bank has done an incredible job of producing engaging content for our fans, while realizing the importance of showcasing the many fun aspects of a golf tournament that occur outside the ropes.”

The Utah Championship social media is led by its host organization, the Utah Sports Commission. A highlight of the tournament’s social presence was the video clip featuring Web.com Tour Player Matt Ryan, “How do Web.com Tour player prepare for #UtahMustacheChampionship?” The video clip received over 16,700 impressions with 3,562 views on Twitter.

“Social media is a critical platform for us to message, communicate and provide content for this world class event to our fans, sponsors, players and partners,” said Jeff Robbins, President and CEO of the Utah Sports Commission. “For us to be selected throughout the Web.com Tour showcases the level of expertise and commitment to the event.”

The Utah Championship will return to Oakridge Country Club located in Farmington, Utah, June 24-30, 2019, marking the third consecutive year the event will take place in Davis County.

Past winners of the event include two-time major champions John Daly (1990) and Zach Johnson (2003), two-time PGA TOUR winner Patton Kizzire (2015), Brice Garnett (2017), who won the TOUR’s inaugural Corales Puntacana Resort & Club Championship in March of 2018, and this year’s champion, Cameron Champ who claimed his first PGA TOUR title at Sanderson Farms Championship just three short months after his win at the Utah Championship.

# # #