US Speedskating Names 15 to the Long Track Fall World Cup Team.

Tuesday, October 17, 2017
Contact: Matt Whewell (
Austin Controulis (

US Speedskating Names 15 to the Long Track Fall World Cup Team
ISU World Cup Salt Lake City tickets go on-sale October 19 at all Smith’s Tix locations

KEARNS, Utah – US Speedskating announced today its 2017-18 Long Track Fall World Cup roster following the four-day World Cup Qualifier at the Utah Olympic Oval. The 15 skaters named to the World Cup roster will help qualify Olympic country quota spots by competing at the following four ISU World Cups:

World Cup #1 – Heerenveen, Netherlands     Nov. 10-12, 2017
World Cup #2 – Stavanger, Norway                Nov. 17-19, 2017
World Cup #3 – Calgary, Canada                    Dec. 1-3, 2017
World Cup #4 – Salt Lake City, Utah*              Dec. 8-10, 2017
* additional U.S. skaters will be announced at a later date

Six of the seven men featured on the roster have skated in a Olympic Winter Games. Two-time Olympic medalist Shani Davis (Chicago, Ill.) has the most experience of the group as a four-time Olympian and winner of 90 World Cup medals. Davis is joined by the reigning Mass Start World Champion and 2014 Olympian Joey Mantia (Ocala, Fla.) and two-time Olympian and 2010 Olympic silver medalist Brian Hansen (Glenview, Ill.).

Other Olympians added to the mix are American record-holder in the 500m and two-time Olympian Mitch Whitmore (Waukesha, Wisc.), and 2014 Olympians Jonathan Garcia (Houston, Texas) and Emery Lehman (Oak Park, Ill.).

Leading the women will be multiple World Champions Heather Bergsma (High Point, N.C.) and Brittany Bowe (Ocala, Fla.). Bergsma is a two-time Olympian and the current World Champion in the 1000m and 1500m, while Bowe is a 2014 Olympian and the 2015 and 2016 World Sprint Champion. Competing alongside Bergsma and Bowe will be 2014 Olympic teammates Sugar Todd (Omaha, Neb.) and Kelly Gunther (Clinton Township, Mich.).

Rounding out the roster will be 2016-17 World Single Distance Championships team members Mia Manganello (Crestview, Fla.) and Petra Acker (Clifton Park, N.Y.), 2016-17 Allround Championships skater Carlijn Schoutens (Heemstede, Netherlands), and 2016-17 World Cup team members Jeffrey Swider-Peltz (Chicago, Ill.) and Paige Schwartzburg (Ocala, Fla.)

In addition, tickets to see the 2017-18 U.S. World Cup team compete on the “Fastest Ice On Earth” at the Utah Olympic Oval will go on sale beginning Thursday, Oct. 19 at all Smith’s Tix locations.

A full roster of the 2017-18 Long Track Fall World Cup Team and the distances they qualified in can be viewed here.

Shani Davis (Chicago, Ill.)
Jonathan Garcia (Houston, Texas)
Brian Hansen (Glenview, Ill.)
Emery Lehman (Oak Park, Ill.)
Joey Mantia (Ocala, Fla.)
Jeffrey Swider-Peltz, Jr. (Chicago, Ill.)
Mitch Whitmore (Waukesha, Wisc.)

Petra Acker (Clifton Park, N.Y.)
Heather Bergsma (High Point, N.C.)
Brittany Bowe (Ocala, Fla.)
Kelly Gunther (Clinton Township, Mich.)
Mia Manganello (Crestview, Fla.)
Carlijn Schoutens (Heemstede, Netherlands)
Paige Schwartzburg (Ocala, Fla.)
Sugar Todd (Omaha, Neb.)###

About US Speedskating
From Pond to Podium, we are US Speedskating. We grow and nurture a sport where all ages can experience the thrill of speed and the camaraderie of the skating community. US Speedskating is responsible for the development of speed skating from grassroots to the highest elite racing programs. US Speedskating is recognized by the United States Olympic Committee and the International Skating Union as the governing body for the sport of speed skating in the United States. The Organization has won 86 Olympic medals to-date, making it one of the most successful sports in U.S. Olympic history. US Speedskating is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. Follow us on TwitterInstagram, on Facebook and at

If you would rather not receive future communications from US Speedskating, let us know by clicking here.
US Speedskating, 5662 Cougar Lane, Kearns, UT 84118 United States