Premier Lacrosse League Powered by Ticketmaster Announces Rio Tinto Stadium as Host for Quarterfinals.

LOS ANGELES, CA. (April 14, 2021) – The Premier Lacrosse League powered by Ticketmaster (“PLL”) announced today that the league will host its first playoff weekend in Salt Lake City from August 20th to 21st. The three quarterfinal matchups will be held at Rio Tinto Stadium.“We’re excited to bring the PLL to Utah lacrosse fans,” said PLL VP of Growth Mick Davis. “Since the addition of the men’s lacrosse program at the University of Utah, the sport has been growing rapidly across the state.”

“After the success of last year’s PLL Championship Series at Zions Bank Stadium in Herriman, we are thrilled to welcome Premier League Lacrosse back to Utah this summer to host the Quarterfinals at Rio Tinto Stadium,” said Real Salt Lake Interim President John Kimball. “The league has been tremendous to work with and we are proud to contribute to the growth of the sport in Utah and throughout the country. We are grateful that the PLL continues to recognize our state as the ideal place to host its premier tournament and we look forward to welcoming the world’s best lacrosse players to Rio Tinto Stadium.”

“Last summer’s PLL Championship Series in Utah was an important part of our state’s return to sport,” said Utah Sports Commission President and CEO Jeff Robbins. “Lacrosse continues to grow in Utah and hosting the quarterfinals at Rio Tinto Stadium will give local players and fans the opportunity to see some of the best players in the world compete. The Utah Sports Commission is proud to partner with the PLL and Rio Tinto Stadium to bring world-class lacrosse back to Utah: The State of Sport.”

The PLL will work with its venue partners to maintain compliance with local and state governance regarding health and safety best practices. This will include standardized weekend-to-weekend health and safety measures, including but not limited to: seating pods, social distancing, enhanced venue cleaning, mobile ticketing, hand sanitation stations, staff and attendee mask requirements. Similar to the 2020 season, the PLL will be working with a committee of medical professionals to develop health and safety protocols for all players, staff, and fans as well. 

The PLL executed a fully quarantined bubble season with zero positive COVID-19 cases while on-site in Salt Lake City in July of 2020. 

The 2021 PLL season will include 11 tour stops from June to September. For the third consecutive year, PLL games will be distributed via an exclusive media rights agreement with NBC Sports Group with action being shown through a combination of NBC, NBCSN, and Peacock TV.

For more information about the 2021 PLL season, visit


The Premier Lacrosse League (PLL) is a men’s professional lacrosse league in North America, composed of 8 teams rostered with the best players in the world. Co-founded by lacrosse superstar, philanthropist, and investor Paul Rabil and his brother, serial entrepreneur and investor, Mike Rabil, the Premier Lacrosse League is backed by an investment group composed of Joe Tsai Sports, Brett Jefferson Holdings, The Raine Group, Creative Artists Agency (CAA) and other top investors in sports and media. The PLL was named Sports Breakthrough of the Year in 2020 by the Sports Business Journal and is distributed through an exclusive media-rights agreement with NBC Universal. For more information, visit and follow on social media: Instagram (@PLL), Twitter (@PremierLacrosse), Facebook (@PremierLacrosseLeague), YouTube ( and TikTok (@pll).