Committee Named To Prepare For Future Olympic, Paralympic Bid.

SALT LAKE CITY (Feb. 12, 2020) – Salt Lake City and Utah took another step in preparation for a future Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games Wednesday. Governor Gary R. Herbert and Salt Lake City Mayor Erin Mendenhall jointly named a Salt Lake City-Utah Committee for the Games, which will provide expertise and leadership in preparation for a future bid.


In December, 2018, the U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Committee (USOPC) named Salt Lake City as America’s Choice for a future winter bid after a national selection process. The USOPC made that award based on the long-term legacy commitment of Utah and Salt Lake City, as well as its presentation during a November, 2018 site visit to Utah.


“This committee is an important next step for Utah, as the state of sport, to show that we continue to be ready, willing and able to play host to a future Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games,” said Herbert.


The new committee will be chaired by Cindy Crane, retired president and CEO of Rocky Mountain Power. Jeff Robbins, president and CEO of the Utah Sports Commission, and Colin Hilton, president and CEO of the Utah Olympic Legacy Foundation, will serve as vice chairs, while Fraser Bullock, managing director, Sorenson Capital will act as president and CEO. A broader group of sport, business, Olympic and civic leaders will comprise the overall committee.


The committee has invited ten Olympic and Paralympic athletes, comprising 34 medals among them.


“In 2002 Salt Lake City took great pride in welcoming the world,” said Mendenhall, who began her first term as mayor last month. “We are ready to welcome the world again as a returning host of a future Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games. Our beautiful city has so much to offer our worldwide guests, including the added benefit of our existing Olympic facilities and infrastructure. I feel very strongly about our bid potential.”


The U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Committee (USOPC) is responsible for putting forward any U.S. bid to the International Olympic Committee. While the USOPC has not yet determined when it will submit a bid for a future Games, leaders from Utah and Salt Lake City are prepared to move quickly when the opportunity arises.


“We are thrilled to work with this extremely talented and knowledgeable group as we collectively refine our vision for a U.S. bid, and we know that when the time is right to welcome the Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games back to Utah – Salt Lake City will be ready.” said Sarah Hirshland, CEO, USOPC. “This community has demonstrated decades of commitment to Team USA athletes and to welcoming the world for competition and training. That’s legacy in action and, when coupled with the world-class venues and a love for winter sport, is what makes the idea of the Games returning to Utah so special.”


Beijing will play host to the 2022 Winter Games. Milano Cortina (Italy) won the right to the 2026 Games last summer. Los Angeles has already been named as the host of the 2028 Summer Olympics.


A future bid will also be guided by a host of stakeholders including the Utah Sports Commission, Utah Olympic Legacy Foundation, U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Committee, the winter sport national governing bodies and Utah public officials.


Salt Lake City-Utah Committee for the Games 
Board of Directors
Chair: Cindy A. Crane, Retired President & CEO, Rocky Mountain Power
Honorary Chair: Gary R. Herbert, Governor, State of Utah
Honorary Chair: Erin Mendenhall, Mayor, Salt Lake City
Honorary Vice-Chair: Stuart Adams, President, Utah Senate
Honorary Vice-Chair: Brad Wilson, Speaker of the House
Vice-Chair: Jeff Robbins, President and CEO, Utah Sports Commission
Vice-Chair: Colin Hilton, President and CEO, Utah Olympic Legacy Foundation
President and CEO: Fraser Bullock, Managing Director, Sorenson Capital


Executive Committee
Andy Beerman, Mayor, Park City
Maame Biney (Olympian)
Carine Clark, Technology Entrepreneur
Max Cobb, Chair/USOPC National Governing Bodies Council/President and CEO, U.S. Biathlon
Reverend France Davis (Salt Lake City Mayor Designee), Pastor Emeritus, Calvary Baptist Church
Dr. Bethami Dobkin (Salt Lake City Mayor Designee), President, Westminster College
Spencer F. Eccles, Chairman Emeritus, Wells Fargo Intermountain Banking
Dell Loy Hansen, Founder and CEO, Wasatch Group
Bob Henrie (Governor Designee), R & R Partners
Sarah Hirshland (USOPC Designee), President and CEO, U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Committee
David Huntsman, President, Huntsman Foundation
David Layton, President and CEO, Layton Companies
Susanne Lyons (USOPC Designee), Chairman, U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Committee
Crystal Maggelet (Governor Designee), CEO, FJ Management, Inc
Al Mansell, Former President, Utah State Senate
Steve Miller, Vice Chairman, Larry H. Miller Group of Companies
Wayne Niederhauser (Utah State Senate Designee), Former President, Utah State Senate Designee
Peter Mouskondis, President and CEO, Nicholas & Company
Catherine Raney Norman (Olympian), Past Member, USOPC Athletes’ Advisory Council
Abby Osbourne (Speaker of the House Designee), Chief of Staff for Speaker of the House, Utah House of Representatives
Steve Price, President and CEO, Price Real Estate
Jim Sorenson, Jr., Vice Chairman, Sorenson Development
Chris Waddell (Paralympian), One Revolution Foundation
Jenny Wilson, Mayor, Salt Lake County


Additional Board Members
Scott Anderson, President & CEO, Zions Bank
Jeremy Andrus, CEO, Traeger Grills
Shannon Bahrke (Olympian)
Mike Bailey, Shareholder & Attorney, Parsons Behle & Latimer
Ron Bigelow, Mayor, West Valley City
Kym Buttschardt, Roosters Brewing Company and Restaurant
Mike Caldwell, Mayor, Ogden City
Rob Cohen, Chairman and CEO, The IMA Financial Group/Board Member, U.S. Olympic and Paralympic Foundation
Dick Ebersol, Former Chairman, NBC Sports
Lisa Eccles, President and COO, George S. and Dolores Doré Eccles Foundation
Tony Finau, PGA TOUR, USA Ryder Cup and USA Presidents Cup
Christian Gardner, CEO, Gardner Company
Kevin Gates, Owner, La Caille
Natalie Gochnour, Director, Kem C. Gardner Policy Institute
Marc Harrison, President and CEO, Intermountain Healthcare
Eric Heiden, MD (Olympian), Heiden Orthopedic Group
Brett Hopkins, Chief Executive Officer, Ken Garff Automotive Group/Former CFO, Salt Lake Olympic Committee
Ron Jibson, Former President and CEO, Questar Corp.
Mayor, City of Provo
Becky Kearns, Community Development Consultant, Zions Bank Corporation
Michael Lynch, 3 Emerald Marketing
Derek Miller, President and CEO, Salt Lake Chamber
Apolo Ohno (Olympian)
Derek Parra (Olympian), Sport Director, Utah Olympic Legacy Foundation
Noelle Pikus Pace (Olympian), Get My Goal Consulting
Nathan Rafferty, President and CEO, Ski Utah
Davis Smith, President and CEO, Cotopaxi
Ryan Smith, CEO, Qualtrics
Chris Sullivan, Vice President, Bids and Protocol, U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Committee
Ruth Watkins, President, University of Utah
Chris Wharton, Chair, Salt Lake City Council
Bob Wheaton, Former President and COO, Deer Valley Resort