8th Annual Governor's State of Sport Awards.

Mike Leavitt, John Price, Dell Loy Hansen, Utah’s athletes, coaches, teams to be honored

Salt Lake City, UT, March 8, 2019 – Thirteen of Utah’s most accomplished athletes and coaches for the 2018 calendar year will be honored April 10th at the 8th Annual Governor’s State of Sport Awards, hosted by the Utah Sports Commission and presented by Zions Bank. In addition, the Governor’s State of Sport Awards will be presented for Highlights of the Year and Event of the Year.

“Sports fans in Utah have a front row seat to some amazing talent from the high school, collegiate, professional and Olympic ranks,” said Jeff Robbins, president and CEO of the Utah Sports Commission. “We are excited to honor the best of the best this year and to show people what makes Utah the State of Sport.”

The Governor’s State of Sport Awards honors Utah athletes in the following categories, with honorees being named each week throughout March on KUTV2’s Talkin’ Sports:

Announced March 10
Highschool Male
Highschool Female
Collegiate Male
Collegiate Female

Announced March 17
Coach of the Year Male
Coach of the Year Female
Event of the Year

Announced March 24
Paralympian Male
Paralympian Female
Olympian Male
Olympian Female

Announced March 31
Professional Male
Professional Female
Team of the Year

Announced April 7
Highlights of the Year

Former Utah Governor Mike Leavitt will receive a Lifetime Achievement award for his role ensuring a successful 2002 Olympic Winter Games and his visionary creation of the Utah Sports Commission to help lead Utah’s sport and Olympic Legacy efforts. In addition, the Governor’s State of Sport awards will honor Ambassador John Price for his support of Utah motorsports and the preservation of this important aspect of Utah’s history. Utah’s biggest soccer supporter, owner of Real Salt Lake, Utah Royals FC and Real Monarchs, Dell Loy Hansen, will be honored as the Utah Sports Commission’s Partner of the Year.


The Lewis Feild Bareback Riding Award, a tribute to the late PRCA Hall of Famer Lewis Feild will be presented to the highest-point bareback winner in Utah’s three main rodeos – the Spanish Fork Fiesta Days Rodeo, the Ogden Pioneer Days Rodeo and the Days of ’47 Cowboy Games & Rodeo.


The eighth annual Governor’s State of Sport Awards will also feature an in-depth discussion with special guests Major League Soccer Commissioner Don Garber and Fox Sports Soccer Analyst and U.S. Soccer legend Alexi Lalas, as well as members of Real Salt Lake and Utah Royals FC.


For more information, please visit stateofsportawards.com.


About Utah Sports Commission
The Utah Sports Commission, a not-for-profit 501c6 business league and Utah Sports Commission Foundation, a not-for-profit 501c3 charitable organization, is governed by an all-volunteer Board of Trustees consisting of statewide sports, business, community, and government leaders. The Sports Commission was created to be a catalyst for Utah in its Olympic legacy efforts and to help enhance Utah’s economy, image and quality of life through the attraction, promotion and development of national and international sports. The Sports Commission works closely with communities, sports entities, and organizations to provide event services ranging from the bid process, on-site logistics, volunteer coordination, sponsorships and promotional opportunities and other related services. For more information, visit  www.utahsportscommission.com


# # #